Black Is Black

I’m black
Surrounded by white
Everyday, everywhere
I shouldn’t be afraid
But I am

I’m black
With white parents
With black parents

My white parents
Raised me with love
But we’re different

I’m different
Different means disparate
Disparate can lead to danger

My black parents
Share my nose
Share my mouth
Share my eyes
But they are foreign
To me

I’m black
I’m from Haiti
But it doesn’t matter
Because here
Black is black

I’m black
Never white
Never black

I’m black
Adopted apart
Adopted abroad
Adopted home

I’m black
I’m proud
Raised by white
Birthed by black

I’m black

Categories PoetryTags , , , , ,

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close